A Musical Quiz…

I play the piano, and often when I need a break from the hardcore classical pieces I turn to my gaming hobby for inspiration. Game music has always been fun to learn and play and it specially makes me all warm and fuzzy when I see two of the things I love come together so nicely.

One fine morning, I picked up a piece from a game for pure fun and to give myself a bit of a sight-reading exercise. In my random eccentricity, I decided I didn’t want to play in flats afterall so I transposed it to different key and added my own embellishments. So much for my sight reading exercise >.<

The fun quiz today: Anyone recognise the piece and/or the game it’s from? Care to take a shot at it? Virtual brownies for the winner!

Note: The recording was rather impromptu and the piece is far from perfect. Apologies for mistakes in advance!

10 thoughts on “A Musical Quiz…

  1. Lyrestra says:

    I don’t know what it is but it’s beautiful!

  2. selly says:

    It’s from Chrono Cross – Arni Village, Another World. I love game soundtracks way too much – I actually own the hard copy of this one, and I’ve all but moved away from CDs… too sentimental to let it go. Yasunori Mitsuda does lovely work.

    A very beautiful rendition indeed, and even one of my favorite songs from the soundtrack. It’s just so peaceful and comforting. 🙂

    You should post more of these!

    • Saya says:

      …And we have a winner! Can I just say wow though – I was a wee bit worried the track was too obscure to be recognised but you not only have the exact version down, you also know the composer! You’re getting virtual brownies with fudge on top!

      I have to agree that this is one of my favourites. When I have trouble sleeping I’ve often woken up just to play this and its so calming.

      Thank you for the kind words! I look forward to playing and posting more awesome game music! =)

  3. Kristalys says:

    I would not have guessed correctly, but I am glad I listened to it all the same. Beautiful job. I am truly jealous of your talent. I agree with Selly in that you should post more of these.

  4. Saya says:

    Thank you very much. =)

  5. Zwingli says:

    This was great! MOAR Plox!@!@!@!

    Ok, my inner child spoke.

    I really appreciate this, having a minor in music as well. You’ve done a great job on it. If this is you “not having it worked up,” I would love to hear you play something that you feel you’ve practiced enough for an actual performance. You must be wonderfully talented!

    Z

    • Saya says:

      Thank you Zwingli! Truth is I get really nervous while performing and recording >.< I really do enjoy sharing these pieces though.

      Thank you for your kind words – I'm encouraged to put up more! =)

  6. sebiri says:

    Love it! It is so peaceful to listen to and it relaxes me. Thanks for sharing =)

  7. Saya says:

    Reblogged this on Piano by Saya and commented:

    This is a musical quiz I did a while ago for fun. The piece is from the game Chrono Cross, Arni Village. At the time I didn’t feel like playing it in flats so I transposed it and added my own embellishments XD Who likes flats anyways. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

